Send-off!

 

How good it was to have a send off on Sunday – I thank you for your prayers that surrounded me as I begin my sabbatical and especially as I journey to Palestine. I couldn’t help reflect how we minister to each other, how we surround one another in community at special days, special moments, special journeys of our lives. One of those who participated in laying on hands with prayer for me was a 6 and a half-year-old who was baptized at St. John’s. I was particularly moved by her ministry to me in a significant way. I rejoiced in her maturity at such a young age to be able to actively and thoughtfully contribute to the church family with prayer – similar to the prayers that she received on her baptismal day that Easter 2008. Truly the baptism water becomes thicker than blood as we share in being one family together as we support and nurture each – every one of us young and old.

Leave a Reply

